ARCHIVED REPORT: 2017 Rd 2 Mantic Clutch “Mountain Straight”

Outright Winner Malcolm Oastler – Image courtesy Stephen Ashelford/Rallye Track Motorsport Photography


Date: 5/3/17 | Host:  BLCC

Sunday March 5, Round 2 of the Mantic Clutch NSW Hillclimb Championship (the second day of the annual Bathurst Double Header) once again provided ideal conditions for fast times. Mudgee’s Doug Barry (Lola T87500) set the early pace to lead Malcolm Oastler (OMS) and a rapid Zac LeLievre in the Westfield Megabusa.

The second and third runs saw Malcolm Oastler sharpening the focus, being first into the 38s bracket then topping that off with a best run of 37.75s for FTD. Doug Barry, who never gives up and tried hard to the very end, finishing with a best of 38.60s, ahead of Ron Hay (Synergy Dallara).

Darren Barlow (Stohr) was best sports car and fourth outright ahead of “Fast Phil” Heafey (Top TiN Top Mitsubishi Evo VI)and Zac LeLievre (Westfield Megabusa). James Pearson (RX7) managed to upset “The Silver Surfer” aka Paul Finch (PRB) and Tony King (MX5) for the honours in 2B Prodsports.

John Gilbert – courtesy Stephen Ashelford/Rallye Track Motorsport Photography.

Matt Cole (RX7) finished a creditable seventh outright ahead of RRNL class winner Neville Shears (Skyline GTR). Stephen Marlin (Mitsubishi Evo) finished ahead of Tony Dixon (Skyline GTR) in the hard fought LM IMP AWD class.

RRNL over 2.5L was again well supported with Geoff Brisby (HSV Clubsport) doing the business ahead of Liam O’Brien (HSV GTS) and Robert Black (VY Clubsport.

A new (Va) Vee record was set by Michael Roberts of 62.72 in the Elfin, while Joanne Bell (Mini) was fastest lady and Riley “Lightning” MacQueen (Commodore) fastest junior.


Please visit our 2017 Major Championship Sponsor Mantic CLutch by clicking the image.

It’s rumored that MO’s schedule may not allow him to compete at all rounds this year which opens up all sorts of possibilities but for the moment the win puts Malcolm Oastler into the lead of the Mantic Clutch Hillclimb Championship for 2017 on 28 points, ahead of Doug Barry (22 pts) and Ron Hay (18 pts).

Ron Hay – NSW Hillclimb Chairman | Alan Barlow – NSW Hillclimb Website Editor


Outright Results