REPORT: 2015 R10 KEP Mattara Hillclimb


Date: 4/10/15 | Host Club: MG CAR CLUB NEWCASTLE

Supported By: Shannons Insurance

Sunday 4th October saw the running of the final round of the NSW Championship for 2015 and the 58th running of the Mattara Hillclimb in King Edward Park, Newcastle. Sadly for all it was also the last weekend of this classic event, due to impending redevelopment of the picturesque beachside venue which will render it unusable for further motor sport.


2nd Outright Dave Morrow (L) & 3rd Outright Keith Hammond (R) – Image Courtesy Eileen Barlow

Unfortunately Championship leader and 2015 champion elect, Malcolm Oastler was overseas but plenty of talent was on display, headed by Queensland ace Dean Tighe in his formidable Judd powered Dallara F395.

Veteran pilots Ron Hay (Synergy Dallara) and Dave Morrow (Krygger Suzuki) were in attendance to press their case whilst being kept honest by a couple of Young Guns, including local standout, Keith Hammond (Debron) and Canberra’s Zac LeLievre (Westfield Megabusa).


Class Winners Nathan Abbott (L) & Stephen Butcher (R) – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

In picture perfect conditions, Tighe set the pace on 35.84s ahead of Hammond, Morrow, Le Lievre and Hay. Second Run saw Tighe consolidate his position with very agressive “wheels up” driving through the notorious Pinch (a stretch of track that is merely a walkway at other times).

In the final run Tighe shaved a fraction to take FTD of 34.10s, just outside the outright record of 32.90s set by Brett Hayward last year. Dave Morrow improved to be second quickest on 35.78s, Keith Hammond was next on 37.22s (a new 2A record) followed by Ron Hay and Zac LeLievre. Peter Brown (BAP Clubman) was next with a new 2C record.


Class Winners Bob Wootton (L) & David Wrightson (R) – Image Courtesy Eileen Barlow

Next quickest and Top Tin Top was Phil Heafey (Evo VI), with Kevin Lewis (Cheetah), Garry Ford (Escort) with David Isaacs (Evo V) rounding out the top ten. Fastest Lady was Joanne Bell (Mini). RRNL under 2.5L was again well supported and Tom Clements (Beetle) set a new class record of 43.03s as he edged out John Ribeiro (Toyota 86). In the over 2.5L group Geoff Brisby (HSV Clubsport) triumphed over Brett Manderson (Falcon).

Dave Watkins should be pleased also, lowering his record for the US Legends class…and the new one he gets to keep forever! For the many spectators (not to mention the drivers), the Electric Class created a lot of interest. Brett Sutherland in the Elmofo electric Radical (40.37s) coming out ahead of Matthew Higgins in the Tesla Roadster. We could be seeing more of this class in the future.


Class Winners Dave Watkins (L) & NSWHC Chairman Phil Heafey – Image Courtesy Eileen Barlow

In accepting the winners trophy a delighted Dean Tighe commented “It was a lot of effort to get here but it was worth it…it’s one of the best”. As for Mattara 2016, more to come but early plans will see a gala event at the MGCCN’s purpose built facility at Ringwood Park near Raymond Terrace.

Alan Barlow – NSW Hillclimb Website Editor


Link courtesy MGCC



Courtesy: Ebarlow Photos


Peter Gumley’s Legendary winning Wortmeyer on display – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow


If you have or know of any other videos from this event please submit the link to the website editor to have it attached to this page. Thank You.