ARCHIVED REPORT: 2018 Rd 6 Mantic Clutch “Ringwood Hillclimb”


Date: 8/7/18 | Host: MGCC

In fine but blustery conditions, past national and state champion Malcolm Oastler, led the way at MG Newcastle’s Ringwood hillclimb on July, 8. He was closely pressed by past state champions, Doug Barry and Dean Tighe who were going tooth and nail in a battle of their own.

First run saw Oastler quickest in the turbo bike powered OMS 28 (36.73s) to lead a mix of cars including Dean Tighe (Dallara Judd V8), Dave Morrow (Krygger Suzuki) then Doug Barry (Lola T8750 Buick) and Zac Lelievre (Westfield Megabusa).

Graeme Semken

The second run went to Tighe (35.95s) as Oastler had a rare moment and Barry, Morrow and Kempsey’s Darren Read (Hayward 09) consolidated.

Brightening conditions for the third and fourth runs saw Oastler step up the pace to 34.62s and finally FTD of 34.53s. Barry responded with a best of 35.68s while Tighe had a brave last gasp effort of 35.69s…only to fall short by just by.01s!

Darren Read claimed a creditable fourth outright ahead of the The Fox aka Dave Morrow, then Zac LeLievre (best of the good field of sportscars) and local clubman Francesco Mangano (Jedi Mk4).

So much for the openwheelers – Garry Ford in the booming Old Skool Group U Escort V8 was next (and best Tin Top) ahead of Neil DePau (Radical Prosports) and David Isaacs (Evo 9) in tenth outright. Newcastle locals, Darval Thomas (JWS) and Ray Bromley (Locost) rounded out the top dozen.

Michael Cusiter

In Prodsports, Jeff Nichols took out the small bore 2B Class and Paul Finch (PRB) managed to get the better of the over 1600cc 2B cars this time, ahead of James Pearson (RX7) John Engish (MX5) and Bob Wootton (MGB).

Ron Gallagher (Toyota 86) finished ahead of Barrie Coady (Celica) in 2F while Richard Ostle (Mini) was quickest in 3D Sports Sedans under 1300cc ahead of Joshua Hayes (Fiat X19) as Rev.

Dave Wrightson (Morris Cooper) took out the 1300-2000cc class ahead of Joanne Bell (Mini) and Bill Pearson (Honda Civic) claimed the 2001-3000 cc class.

Grant Liddell (Datsun 1200) was quickest 3J Imp Prod up to 1600cc and Warwick Burge (Datsun 1200) took out the 1601-2000cc 3J, ahead of co-driver Steve Brydie. Brett Slingsby took the honors in 3J over 3000cc ahead of wife Katie in the family Commodore.

Richard Ostle

Michael Cusiter set a new RR electric record while Karen Wilson blitzed the Imp Prod (Excl 4wd etc) class setting a new record (and Fastest Lady) ahead of Theo Poteris in the shared Commodore ahead of another fast lady, Louise Hayes who was sharing the drive with Geoff Brisby in another Commodore.

A good rollup in RRNL saw local driver Steve Woods (Renault) on top from Sam Beeby (Polo Gti), Jeff Schmitt (BMW) and Andrew Fraser (Corvette). Newcastle regular Christian Thompson (JB Clubman) was best Junior.

Having missed a few rounds due to other commitments, Malcolm was happy to collect the winner’s trophy with the comment “Those big cars are getting faster, looks like I’ll have to get my finger out in future.”

With just two rounds to go Barry leads the field on 75 points with favorite for second place being Dave Morrow, currently on 42 points.

Neil De Pau

Another great event by MGCCN, the event started on time, fine weather, five official runs and a timely finish, doesn’t get much better than that. AB

Alan Barlow – NSW Hillclimb Website Editor