ARCHIVED REPORT: 2015 R3 Bathurst Mountain Straight Hillclimb

Malcolm Oastler


Date: 1/3/15 | Host Club: Bathurst Light Car Club

Bathurst’s Mountain Straight is the longest and fastest hillclimb on the NSW calendar and most agree that it requires more than a dash of bravery and a good right foot to make the most of it.

The second day of the annual BLCC double header dawned with plenty of discussion as to whether Round 2 winner Malcolm Oastler, could pull off the double and put himself into the lead of the championship pointscore after having missed the opening round.

The punters did not have long to wait with Malcolm’s OMS again setting the pace with a first run of 41.33s to lead Tim Edmondson (Gould GR55B) by just over half a second.

Untitled 29

(L) Tim Edmondson 2nd (R) Kevin Lewis a well deserved 5th outright – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Ron Hay (Synergy Dallara) and dark horse Phil Heafey (Evo) were only marginally behind, Phil checking the forecasts and looking skyward for a dark cloud or two.

The pattern was now set but the result was always in doubt. On the next tour, Oastler stopped the clocks at 40.3s – Edmondson answered with 40.9s. Run three was more of the same with only tenths the difference.

Then the final run, Malcolm was again quicker, posting 38.82s for FTD, taking the honours from Tim Edmondson on 38.90s. It was worth watching the leaders’ final sweep down to the finish line on full noise, a great show of commitment.

Untitled 38

(L) Matt Halpin Holden Torana (R) Dave Morrow Krygger Suzuki – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Ron Hay battled on for third outright (43.82s) with Phil Heafey (Evo) next quickest despite having his last run spoiled by a late shower. It appears that Phil’s rain dance works, now he’s just got to work on the timing.

Long time campaigner Kevin Lewis (Dallara) grabbed a well deserved fifth outright, outfoxing Dave Morrow (Krygger Suzuki) by 0.07s on the final run.

Zac LeLievre (Westfield Megabusa) overcame some dificulties on the third run to claim the next spot ahead of Darren Read (Minetti Monster), David Isaacs (Evo) with Tamworth’s Matt Halpin (Torana) rounding out the Top Ten.

Untitled 41

(L) Paul “The Silver Surfer” Finch made a triumphant return (R) Denis Russell – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Denis Russell took out F/L up to 750cc while Paul Finch (PRB) made it a double in 2A Sports as did Kevin Leggett (Exige) in 2B up to 3L and James Pearson (RX7) in 2B over 3L.

Others to make it a double were Peter Brown (2C BAP Clubman), Garry Hobson (2F Porsche GT3) and “The Rev” David Wrightson had his revenge on Sunday in the Mini S/S.

Steve Turner (MINI) continued his success in S/S 2-3L, while Phil Heafey cemented the over 3L S/S class win ahead of Matt Halpin (Torana).

Untitled 44

Class Winners (L) Garry Hobson (Porsche GT3) (R) Peter Brown (BAP Clubman) – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Col Mayman continued his winning ways in the Beetle ahead of Glenn Torrens while John Gilbert (Commodore) was again quickest in 3J ahead of Martin McLoughlin (Torana). Bob Wootton was again successful in the Sb Lotus.

Late Model Improved excl FI was a Commodore benefit, Chris Weir from David May and Alan May. Late Model Incl FI went to David Isaacs (Evo) from Tony Dixon (Skyline) and Craig Albertson (XR6).

RRNL up to 2.5L saw Nicholas Elson (Honda) the best from John Ribeiro (Toyota 86) and Nathan Barham (Suzuki Swift GTI). RRNL AWD went to Michael Hill (Skyline) while RRNL over 2.5L again went to Dejan Buneta (Skyline) from Geoff Brisby (HSV Clubsport) and Tim Burt (Skyline). Unreg NL went to Rob Black (Commodore) from Miles Hoare (Tatus) and Christopher Yee (Skyline.

Untitled 47

(L) John Gilbert 1st Class 3J (R) Michael Hill in the Nissan GTR – Image Courtesy Eileen Barlow

The early start to the season may not have suited everyone but we are now getting into full swing with the prediction of some epic battles to be fought this year.

Alan Barlow – NSW Hillclimb Championship Website Editor


courtesy Bathurst Light Car Club


Courtesy: Eileen Barlow –

Courtesy: Luke Lammers of Lammers Foto Phone: 0422 788 847 – Thank you