ARCHIVED REPORT: 2015 R6 Grafton Hillclimb


Date: 7/6/15 | Host Club: Grafton Sporting Car Club

Northern Rivers driver, Daryl Watt shocked the opposition at Mountainview on June 7. It was an electric performance, just two tenths outside the outright record set by Brett Hayward back in 2014.

With the Grafton Sporting Car Club celebrating sixty years in motorsport this year there was more than a little local pride at stake and Watt came up trumps against strong opposition.

Dean Tighe (L) 2nd Outright & Dean Amos (R) 3rd Outright – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Watt’s Force PC set the early pace in slippery conditions with a run of 51.47s to narrowly lead Queenslander, Dean Tighe (Dallara/Judd) on 51.55s. They were followed by Dean Amos (Gould GR37), Malcolm Oastler (OMS 28) and Dave Morrow (Krygger Suzuki).

With the sun well up, conditions improved and Watt went from strength to strength, increasing his lead over the field and a fourth run of 42.66s put the matter beyond doubt. Dean Tighe claimed second outright on 44.04s with Amos in third place.

Malcolm Oastler had a recurrence of difficulties faced at the Queensland titles a week earlier but battled on gamely in a car that was clearly below par.

Class Winners Bill Norton (L) & Gary Ford (R) – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Dave Morrow claimed fifth outright ahead of Darren Read (Minetti Monster) and local club stalwart Bill Norton (GRD). Neil Depau (Skyline) took out Open Sports unopposed and was good to see Gundy Hunt out and about in his flash 2B Marque Sports Westfield clubman.

Kevin Leggett (Exige) collected the silverware in the over 1600cc Marque Sports class while Harry Everett (Gemini) took out the up to 1600cc 3J Imp Prod class and Gary Pitt (Escort) came out in front of Bill Heuchmer (Corolla) and Col Mayman (Beetle) in the well supported 3J over 1600cc class.

Travellin’ man John Gilbert edged out Adam Kane in the battle of the Imp Prod Commodores Sam Hollier accounted for 3J Imp Prod and Jason Newling edged out Graeme Diskin in their Late Model Subarus. (That is not a mistake, Graeme Diskin was not in his fabled Torana).

Untitled 15

Class winners Greg Slade (L) & Harry Everett (R) – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

RRNL under 2500cc went to Greg Slade (Lancer) from Mark Owen (CRX) and Paul Carroll (Elise) while Geoff Brisby (Clubsport) edged out Brett Manderson (Falcon) in RRNL over 2500cc.

Trevor Herne (EVO) was best of the AWD RR, David Wrightson (Mini) likewise in the smaller Sports Sedans while a close battle in the big bore Sports Sedans saw Garry Ford’s Escort ultimately triumph over Matt Halpin (Torana) and Daryl Small (Commodore) and claim Top Tin Top status.

In Historics, the winners were Dick Willis (Ausper), John Hoade (Cooper S), Bill Norton (GRD) and Steve Purdy (MG Midget) setting a new record for good measure.

Class Winners (L) Dick Willis & Goeff Brisby (R) - Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Class Winners (L) Dick Willis & Geoff Brisby (R) – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Highly regarded as a spirited competitor and one to watch, Daryl Watt later commented “Yep, I’m excited…its been a while coming but I’ve finally cracked it for a win”.

While Malcolm Oastler has had to settle for the consolation prize at this round he has maintained a strong lead in the NSW Championship ahead of Dave Morrow, Tim Edmondson and Ron Hay.

Alan Barlow – NSW Hillclimb Website Editor


courtesy GSCC


Courtesy: Ebarlow Photos