ARCHIVED REPORT: 2015 R7 Tamworth Hillclimb


Date: 19/7/15 | Host Club: Tamworth Sporting Car Club

Supported By: Statewide Car Carriers

Despite a dusting of snow on the ranges, Sunday July 19 dawned bright and clear for Tamworth Sporting Car Club’s round of the NSW Championship at Oakburn Park in the State’s North West.

Untitled 5

Dave Morrow (L) & Ron Hay (R) finished 2nd & 3rd outright respectively – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Points leader Malcolm Oastler (still smarting after a mechanical issue the previous round) made the long tow from southern NSW, looking eager to set things right. Malcolm’s AHCC winning OMS28 (aka “the Beast of Bega”) was in devastating form and he needed only two runs to dispose of the opposition and reset the outright record previously held by Brett Hayward down to 29.11s.

A strong battle for the minor places ensued with wily veteran Dave Morrow (Krygger Suzuki) taking second outright (32.14s) after a day long struggle with Ron Hay (Synergy Dallara) (32.75s) and Darren Read (32.83s). Read as usual was driving the wheels off the Minetti Monster for fourth outright and first of the Non Registered competitors.

Untitled 1

Class Winners Jim Norris (L) & Craig Albertson (R) – Image Courtesy Eileen Barlow

Local driver Matt Halpin (Torana) was next quickest (and Top Tin Top) ahead of Paul (“Silver Surfer”)Finch (PRB) who was best of the Sports Cars. Seventh outright and best of the Beetles was another local, Col Mayman (VW).

Next quickest was Michael Hill (Skyline), Phil Pratt (Trojan) and yet another local, Craig Albertson (Imp Prod Falcon XR6). Jim Norris (Datsun 280ZXT) was quickest in Marque Sports ahead of Kevin Leggett’s Exige with Teruo Delacroix (Matsuda) taking out 2F.

Untitled 2

Class Winners Darval Thomas (L) & Glenn Mason (R) – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Road Registered classes went to Matthew Cameron (Skoda), Geoff Brisby (HSV Clubsport) and Michael Hill (Skyline GTR). Early Improved Production was taken out by John Gilbert (Commodore), Late Model Over 3000cc went to Glenn Mason (Skyline).

Quickest of the smaller Sports Sedans and Fastest Lady was Joanne Bell (Mini) and Best Junior was Danil Elson (Ford Falcon).

Untitled 3

Class Winners Teruo Delacroix (L) & Matthew Cameron (R) – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

The win puts Oastler into the lead of the NSW Championship by 22 points with Dave Morrow and Ron Hay arguing over the minor places and just three rounds to go.

Alan Barlow – NSW Hillclimb Website Editor


  • As always,Tamworth was a great weekend with no fuss, no panel damage and six official runs the order of the day.
  • A bit of bad luck for Darvil Thomas and co-driver Kevin Lewis when the JWS did not want to continue playing.



Malcolm Oastler3

Round winner Malcolm Oastler interviewed for NBN News. See link below for the full Video.

Press Links are courtesy NBN News


Courtesy: Ebarlow Photos


No Youtube videos were uploaded for this event. If you know of one please submit the link to the website editor to have it attached to this page.

Thank You.