ARCHIVED REPORT: Australian Hillclimb Championship 2013

Greg Ackland

Date: 2 & 3/12/13 | Host: MG Car Club Queensland


Well what more can I say, a sensational weekend of motorsport in perfect weather conditions – with all the excitement and drama you would expect of an Australian Championship.

Greg Ackland (Ackland GA8) and Brett Hayward (Hayward 09) were “right into it” all weekend. Greg achieving a well deserved 1st place and a new outright record (36.22s) ahead of Brett’s best of 36.45s. Malcolm Oastler (Dallara F394) threatened to cause a boilover and kept them honest on 36.77s, good enough for third outright and a new 1300cc record. The changeover to bike power has finally happened!

whitesCommiserations to outgoing Oz#1 Tim Edmondson (Gould) who was forced to retire after clipping the bank approaching the finish line in Friday’s practice, unfortunately injuring his wrist. Congratulations to Doug Barry (Lola), (best car engine, onya Dougy!) in fourth, while Alan McConnell (Van Diemen) provided amusement for the crowd with a visit to the nutshells late in the day (see photos).

Dean Tighe (Dallada Judd) showed plenty of promise in a car that will be ultra competitive when developed further ahead of Warwick Hutchinson (Van Diemen), Dean Amos (Gould GR37), Ron Hay (Synergy Dallara) and Rod Johns (Norris Hawke) rounding out the top ten. Full marks to MGCCQ, all their sponsors, major and minor and their overworked officials and helpers.

Also impressive was the contingent of representatives from MGCC Newcastle already keen to match the Queenslanders next year when they host the AHCC at the newly redeveloped Ringwood hillclimb.

For the information of NSW regulars, more new records for Steve Purdy, Roy Davis, John Gilbert, Mark Crespan, Stephen Butcher and Dave Homer. Congratulations to Darren Read for the Glynn Scott Trophy for best sports car.

Alan BarlowNSW Hillclimb Website Editor

More on:

Photo Gallery: Courtesy EBarlow Photos