ARCHIVED REPORT: Canberra Hillclimb R4 2006

Peter Gumley

Peter Gumley in the Wortmeyer SCV achieved Fastest Time of the Day – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow


Date: 23/4/06 | Host Club: Southern District Motorsports Association Inc.

A smaller than usual field greeted the green light at Fairbairn in April. It was good news however for those who ventured south, as the always hospitable SDMA crew laid on seven runs!  I don’t know about anyone else, but I had a ball.

Peter Gumley (Wortmeyer SCV) took out fastest time of the day and the open Formula Libre class unopposed with a best time of 38.98 around the tight Fairbairn Park course. Steve Hooker (Jedi Suzuki) was once again next best and quickest F/L 751cc-1300cc at 41.31s. Ron Hay (RH Honda) took the Historic Group R class and third outright (43.55s). Fourth outright and up to 750cc F/L went to Geoff Lord in the Fubar (45.56s).

Long time local runner, John Ribeiro rocketed around in the PRB in 45.69s – best sports car and fifth outright. Garry Ford (Escort S/S) represented the Tamworth Team at 46.20s ahead of Phil Pratt (Trojan), who this time was second in small open wheeler class and seventh outright (46.31s)

Next quickest was Arthur Hollins (Cortina Turbo).  He had the black beast whistling around as usual to take out the S/S 2001-3000cc class (46.91s) ahead of Mal Dunning (MD7 Clubman, 47.59s) .

Craig Torrens in the VW Beetle, (with usual Gorilla co-driver) rounded out the top ten at 47.91s, claiming the Improved Production 1600cc-2000cc class in the process. Thanks again to the good folk at SDMA.

Alan BarlowNSW Hillclimb Website Editor



Back to NSW Hillclimb Championship Archives