ARCHIVED REPORT: Huntley Hillclimb RD 5 2007

Peter Gumley in the Wortmeyer SCV Wins another Hometown Event – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Date: 27/5/07 | Host Club: Wollongong Sporting Car Club

Huntley Hill is one of the steepest hillclimbs in NSW and rewards a handy amount of uphill grunt. While not the tightest of venues it can be quite demanding, particularly if you manage to stray from the ideal line. This unfortunately led to some unscheduled visits to the shrubbery, which tested the resources of the hard working WSCC team and those of a couple of drivers. At least the weather was perfect.

Local driver and series leader Peter Gumley (Wortmeyer SCV) moved further ahead in the championship standings and finished the day with FTD of 19.78s, just outside his course record of 19.42s set back in 2000.

Steve Hooker (Jedi Suzuki) was next best and the F/L 751-1300cc class winner on 22.01s, a couple of tenths shy of the class record.

Tim Edmondson in the Mallock beats the Murray Bingham Cobra class record - Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Tim Edmondson in the Mallock beats the Murray Bingham Cobra class record – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Tim Edmondson put the Force open wheeler aside to take a crack at the long standing sports record of 23.69s, set by Murray Bingham’s Bingham Cobra back in 1986. The Edmondson Mallock 32B has recently been refurbished at Chez Gumley and looked a picture slicing up the course, finally stopping the clocks at 22.05s. A job well done.

Geoff Lord (Axtell Suzuki) took out the F/L 0-750cc class on 23.93s ahead of John Bown (Altin) and ninth outright, while Kylie Gumley got behind the wheel in the newly acquired Jedi for a creditable third in class.

Untitled 75

Stephen Hooker (Left) finished 2nd Outright & Malcolm Oastler (Right) in the immaculately presented & engineered “Union Jag” – Image courtesy Eileen Barlow

Stuart Inwood continues to impress in the Nissan GTR, claiming fifth outright, the Late Model Imp Prod class and best Tin Top on 25.22s. Next were Greg Jones (Dentor) and Barry Fraser in the Subaru WRX, followed by Greg Omerod (Imp Production RX3). Peter McLeod rounded out the top ten in the pretty McRae Spyder on 27.01s.

Alan BarlowNSW Hillclimb Website Editor



Back to NSW Hillclimb Championship Archives