ARCHIVED REPORT: Tamworth Hillclimb RD 7 2007

Date: 8/7/07 | Host Club: Tamworth Sporting Car Club

A keen crowd of hillclimbers made the trek north to the land of country music for the weekend of 7/8th July. The weather unfortunately was a bit variable and an occasional passing shower added a bit of added spice to proceedings. The weather did not dampen the enthusiasm of the hard working TSCC crew with the competitors giving the event the thumbs up.

Peter Gumley showed the way with an FTD of 31.51s, the venerable SCV responding to Peter’s ever ongoing program of constant improvement. Dave Morrow (Krygger Suzuki) was next best on 33.23s ahead of Peter Robinson (PRS) on 34.09s.

Geoff Lord grabbed the up to 750cc F/L class with a neat run of 35.42s ahead of Jeremy Gray on 38.32s while Tom Donovan unfortunately killed an engine in the Megakart on his second run. The class win this year promises to be a hard fought affair.

It was good to see Noel Gibson back behind the wheel of a Vee after a mishap earlier in the year, while Mark and Krista Broadhead have got the Group Nb Mini flying, Mark carrying on his good form from Grafton, clocking a time of 38.47s.

Kev Brown (Torana) claimed Group Nc while Ron Hay (RH Honda, 35.06s) had Group R class and Bob Wootton (Lotus) won the S(c) class.

In 2A Sports Cars, Glenn Parsonage (PRB, 38.91s) edged out Andrew Walker and Jim Norris (Datsun) was quickest Marque car.

In Improved Production cars Ray Seymour was quickest in the 0-1600cc class. Heath Campbell was in fine form, lowering the lap record for 1600cc-2000cc to 36.38s ahead of Nathan Abbott and Christine Campbell (all in VW Beetles of course). Greg Omerod (RX3) was quickest in the 2000-3000cc class ahead of Ken Moffett (RX7).

David Ellis (Torana) was quickest in Imp Prod over 3000cc ahead of Bruce Worgan (Commodore). Stuart Inwood took the Late Model class win in the Nissan GTR (36.83s).

Maroons fancier, Donn Vidler (Cooper S) was best of the up to 1300cc Sports Sedans while Bob Bell pedaled the Honda powered Mini around in 37.08s to take out the 1300cc-2000cc class. Daniel Fort (Torana) took the over 3 litre class.

Alan BarlowNSW Hillclimb Website Editor



Back to NSW Hillclimb Championship Archives