REPORT: RD 4 2019 “Kempsey Hillclimb”


Date: 7/4/19 | Host: GSCC

Despite a wet practise, the competitors’ spirits weren’t dampened for round 4 of the championship hosted by Kempsey Sporting Car Club at Mt Cooperabung circuit.

A clear, starry night led into a fine, sunny day for the 46 competitors who contested the 743m of old pacific highway. Put the wets back in the trailer!

Challenging and rewarding, the course is heavily shaded and presents unique challenges with regards to grip and driver visibility, especially with so much rain in the lead up.

Sports Sedans over 3 litre belonged to Wayne Penrose’s n/a VW Beetle

Malcolm Oastler (22.313) was again surgically precise in his speed, not only taking first outright and first in class for FL 2.0+, but reset the outright course record.

A great effort! Dean Tighe (22.939) finessed his Dallara to second (also under the old outright record), while local Darren Read (23.611) grabbed 3rd outright in the Haywood 09 special and a class win in FL1.3-2.0. FL0.75-1.3 belonged to Dave Morrow (25.922)

2A 1.6+ was won by Kendall O’Connor (28.787) in his time attack MX-5, while the Mazda theme continued in 2B 1.6+ as James Pearson (27.423) won his class and set a new record from John Enisch (30.908) in the MX-5 who suffered a driveline failure on his 3rd run.

Ron Gallagher’s Toyota 86 was fastest 2F Production Sports car over 1600cc

Class 2F 1.6+ saw Ron Gallagher (32.892) take the win and shave a big chunk off the record behind the wheel of the ever popular Toyota 86 and Joshua Hayes (33.283) just edged out Louise (33.407) in the Fiat X1/9 in 3DSS<3.0L.

Jo Bell (34.706) took out SS1.3-2.0L in her Honda powered Mini, while in over 3.0LSS, Wayne Penrose (28.016) wrangled the win in his VW Beetle.

Sadly, Daryl Small (28.720) came to grief on the final corner, impacting the earth filled tyre wall and rolling his VL commodore sports sedan.

Daryl Small was lucky to walk away unhurt from this finish line crash rollover which destroyed his car

Thankfully without significant physical injury from what was a nasty incident, caused by mechanical failure. Hope to see you back again soon Daryl.

John Gilbert (30.063) was alone in IP3.0+, while Geoff Brisby (29.079) finished on top of IP ex 4WD in his HSV. David Hussey (31.970) scored the win in IP4WD.

A great battle in RRNLB2.5L+ saw Graham Orr (31.298) clinch victory in his CRX from Garry Christopherson (31.878) and a hard charging Wayne Grosser (29.048) put his FPV GS on top in RRNLB2.5+.

Theo Poteris had his awd turbo Ford Focus absolutely barking

Theo Poteris (29.218) again won AWDRRNLB from fastest lady, Karen Wilson (31.141) in the same Ford Focus.

Non state reg competition was won by Daniel Oram (29.609) in the Commodore, while David Issacs (28.672) was in a class all of his own in the Evo, literally.

Group Q saw Steve Purdy (32.125) reset the record in a Nota Clubman some 8 years after Dave Morrow.

With the championship at the half way point, there are some very interesting battles forming in various classes while some categories have distinct leaders emerging.

Kempsey local Daniel Oram won the Non State Registered NLB group in his Commodore

For competitors: it’s now time to take stock, make those further tweaks and prepare for the back half of the series……“the business end”.

Thanks to all KSCC members, officials and their loyal helpers for hosting the round and pulling extra special favours with the weather gods!

Words by James Pearson

Results Sheet Click Here


Malcolm Oastler (22.313)
Dean Tighe (22.939)
Darren Read (23.611)
Ron Hay (25.265)
Dave Morrow (25.922)


James Pearson (27.423)
Wayne Penrose (28.016)
David Issacs (28.672)
Daryl Small (28.720)
Kendall O’Connor (28.767)


Karen Wilson (31.141)


Riley MacQueen (29.642)